Words, Just Words. Promises, Just Promises.

“I’ve fought for open, ethical, and accountable government my entire public life. I don’t switch positions or make promises that can’t be kept.”

Barack Obama

So, how’s that working out for you, Obama voters?

Are you impressed with how open, ethical, and accountable the Obama administration is?

How about all those promises he hasn’t kept?

How about that “sacred trust”?

How about the fact that Senator Barack Obama received a $101,332 bonus from American International Group in the form of political contributions?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Words, Just Words. Promises, Just Promises.

  1. tom says:

    Are you clinically retarded? You appear so from your postings. Just curious. If you are, good for you — it’s nice to see a retarded fellow operate his own blog.

  2. Jonah says:

    Tom,

    What’s it like being a walking cliche? Let’s have discussions that don’t solely comprise calling the other person retarded. It’s a little grade school, don’t you think?

    Red,

    I agree that the contributions of AIG to political candidates are pretty outrageous, but a few observations should be included here.

    • “received a bonus from AIG” here means that money was donated to Obama’s campaign from PACs (until about six months ago when that practice was discontinued) and individual employees. I have serious qualms with the former, but it should be noted that the majority of funds “from AIG” are contributions from employees. I do not believe that this is inherently bad. Citizens should be allowed to donate money to whichever political candidate they choose, regardless of their place of employment.
    • Obama is hardly the only recipient of these funds. Since 1989 (I’m getting this from the source you linked), McCain has received $99,249 from the group. Bush has received $200,560. In fact, pretty much every major politician in Washington, Democrat or Republican, has received significant contributions along these orders of magnitude. This is a systemic problem, and while it’s sad that Obama hasn’t risen above it, we shouldn’t paint it as something he alone is part of.
    • Overall, the contributions to political candidates by AIG employees is distributed almost exactly 50-50 between Democrats and Republicans. It’s less balanced from year to year (for instance, this year the Democrats fared much “better”), but this is easily explained by shifting popular opinion of the parties.

    I know this is a conservative blog, but it wouldn’t hurt you to provide more context to the data you cite. At the very least, it would cause people like me (and, maybe, this Tom guy) to take you more seriously.

  3. tom says:

    Jonah,

    Have you read through this guy’s blog? I stand by my question as being legitimate.

    Tom

  4. Jonah says:

    Is he wrong about a lot of things? Sure. Has he ever found a conspiracy theory he didn’t buy into? Probably not. But the dude’s a cogent enough writer, and is (usually) pretty good at following arguments.

    I stick around because I think that such people, when exposed to actual liberals who care to explain their thought processes, will eventually stop viewing us as agents of evil and, maybe, even understand where we’re coming from. Why are you here?

    John and I don’t see eye-to-eye on, um, anything, but hopefully he’ll forgive me for borrowing his figurative language: Tom, stop being a gargoyle.

  5. Jonah,
    I enjoy the debate you bring at an adult level. I find it silly when others throw childish insults.

    I find your second paragraph above to be very interesting, because I feel the same way about you as you do about me… i.e.:

    I think that such people, when exposed to actual conservatives who used to be liberals and care to explain their thought processes, will eventually stop viewing us as agents of evil and, maybe, even understand where we’re coming from.

  6. Jonah says:

    Red!

    I hope you don’t think I consider you a force of evil. I absolutely don’t. I think you’re misguided, mostly because you frequently assume things to be simpler than they are and have a tendency to drag your heels when these views are challenged. But every position on which we’ve disagreed, I’ve always considered your side to be one that truly means well but suffers from misunderstandings.

    -Jonah

  7. tom says:

    Jonah,

    I’m hear because retards amuse me. Thus, Itooktheredpill amuses me.

    Tom

  8. Jonah says:

    Ironic spelling alert!

  9. Tom says:

    I’m hear because retards amuse me.

    Jonah says:

    Ironic spelling alert!

    Red Pill says:
    :-)

  10. tom says:

    I’m beginning to think that you both are retarded; or at least Jonah is the other half of Itooktheredpill’s split personality.

  11. Jonah says:

    tom,

    You’ve got a lot of growing to do. Political maturity takes more than insulting those with whom you disagree. Come back in a few years, and let’s see if we can have a real discussion.

  12. tom says:

    You two certainly seem to have a special affection for one another. Let me guess, you guys are up in Massachusetts somewhere, right?

  13. Jonah says:

    I am. I dunno where Red lives. But, really, gay jokes? Weak sauce.

  14. tom says:

    Not a joke, Jonah. An observation based on some strong evidence.

  15. WWRTC says:

    Tom don’t be a prick, just answer the questions:
    Are you impressed with how open, ethical, and accountable the Obama administration is? How about all those promises he hasn’t kept? How about that “sacred trust”? That is the point of this post, even a ‘retard’ would know that.

  16. tom says:

    WWRTC — this is between myself, Jonah, and Itooktheredpill. I could care less about Obama or whatever the topic of this post is supposed to be. I only want to talk about what is really important — Itooktheredpill is a role model for ‘tards everywhere. The guy doesn’t run a great blog, but at least he has a blog. He should be an inspiration for ‘tards. Shows what they can do if given half a chance.

  17. tom says:

    Besides, WWRTC, why do you think I’m a liberal? Do liberals really use words like ‘tards? They don’t, do they?

  18. Jonah says:

    He’s got a point. We’re much more civil than that.

  19. tom says:

    Thank you, Jonah. Someone who is clearly as uncooth and uncivil as myself is definitely NOT a liberal. I’m simply a conservative who thinks that itooktheredpill has smoked just a little too much weed in his day.

  20. Tom,

    The one who smoked just a little too much weed in his day was Obama.

    The only illegal drug I ever took was alcohol when I was under 21.

    Are you even over 21? You sure don’t act like it.

    Please explain what being a conservative means to you.

  21. Words, just words. Speeches, just speeches.

    Mix and match. Make your own…

Leave a Reply

