He who corrects a scoffer…

I’ve read the following before, but it had new meaning for me when I read it today:

He who corrects a scoffer gets shame for himself,
And he who rebukes a wicked man only harms himself.

Proverbs 9:7

When I read that, I felt convicted that I have, in responding to the comments of some, attempted to correct a scoffer. And I have no desire to bring shame or harm upon myself.

As a result, I am rethinking what I want to do with this blog. I still want to help teach others Biblical truth, but I don’t want to correct scoffers. And I don’t necessarily want to just let scoffers’ comments appear without any response. Yet I don’t want to ban people just for disagreeing with me. Of course, people can disagree without being “scoffers”, but discerning between the two could be subjective, and perceived as being arbitrary. I could also block comments completely, and just let posts stand on their own, but there is a certain value in healthy discussion in the comment section. And the verses that follow the one above do encourage giving instruction and teaching to the wise and just.

Do not correct a scoffer, lest he hate you;
Rebuke a wise man, and he will love you.
Give instruction to a wise man, and he will be still wiser;
Teach a just man, and he will increase in learning.

“The fear of the LORD is the beginning of wisdom,
And the knowledge of the Holy One is understanding.
For by me your days will be multiplied,
And years of life will be added to you.
If you are wise, you are wise for yourself,
And if you scoff, you will bear it alone.”

Proverbs 9:8-12

I’m not exactly sure at the moment what direction I will take. But I do know for sure that I do not want to correct scoffers.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to He who corrects a scoffer…

  1. Sally Hill says:

    I know exactly what you mean. I have secured a couple of domain names myself, but have stopped short of placing a blog (as was my original intent) for the time being, due to the exact reason you give here.

    I really enjoy a good debate, I think it is what makes this nation so great – the ability to freely express your opinions openly. However, as I have seen time and again on these blogs, the name calling, the belittling, and the scoffing that goes on between commenter’s, really irks me.

    I don’t ever call someone names or try and belittle them because they have a difference of opinion. I might reply in kind to a snarky post, but I try very hard to refrain from it being directed towards the person, rather towards the subject.

    Interesting post.

  2. Jonah says:

    I understand what you’re saying here, but I think you need to be careful for two reasons. Or rather, one reason that manifests in two ways:

    We’re all human.

    First, because of our imperfection, all of us are scoffers at times. I like to think that I keep a level head around here, but I’m sure I’ve scoffed at a few of the arguments you’ve made. And Red, if you think you haven’t done the same, you’re sorely mistaken. So the question is, how much scoffing must one do to be worth ignoring? Honestly, I think you’ve been pretty good at figuring this out in the past. With a few exceptions (that Charles guy in the Support U.S. Armed Forces thread deserved less attention than he got, for instance), you haven’t spent much time engaging with trolls.

    Second, I think all of us can be overeager see scoffing in what the other side says. Until we can learn to stop reading hostility into the arguments of those who disagree with us, we’ll have way too many false positives in identifying scoffers. See, for instance, how Red previously misread the idea of a “martyr complex” (a familiar concept in psychology) as a death threat. You weren’t being dumb, but you were interpreting as threatening something that clearly wasn’t. This is human.

    Those problems aside, I think you should continue to think about this. In particular, you might read a bit about the “four children” part of the Passover Seder. The telling has changed a lot over time (Haggadot are notoriously varied, even from household to household), but the basic idea is that it’s a parable of how four prototypical children might ask questions about Passover, and how we should respond to those questions.

    Of note here is the wicked or rebellious child, who asks, “What does this ritual mean to you?” Traditionally, the answer to this is something like, “By phrasing your question this way, you alienate yourself from the rest of us. If we were escaping Egypt today, God would have left you behind!” So, a bit dramatic. But most Haggadot I’ve read also include a follow-up to the effect of, “…but the fact that you asked means that you’re interested, which is great!” This is usually followed by a cursory explanation of why it’s important to remember stories from the past.

    Again, traditions vary a lot here, but by reading different religious scholars’ approaches to this part of the Seder, I think you’ll find a lot of wise commentary. This article might be a good place to start.

  3. Trevor Hilton says:

    Proverbs 26:5 Answer a fool according to his folly,
    or he will be wise in his own eyes.

    I think, though, there are times to correct a scoffer. After all, if somebody doesn’t correct them, they could lead some people astray.

  4. Sally Hill,

    I really enjoy a good debate, I think it is what makes this nation so great – the ability to freely express your opinions openly.

    I agree. We Americans have always enjoyed our 1st Amendment rights. And we are a better nation when speech is free and respectful dissent is not silenced.

    I might reply in kind to a snarky post

    Yes, I’m guilty of that, too.

    Interesting post.

    Thank you.

  5. Jonah,

    I’ve always appreciated your perspective and your comments.

    you might read a bit about the “four children” part of the Passover Seder.

    I will.

  6. Trevor,

    So, we are to answer a fool, but not correct a scoffer. I want to look deeper into the meaning and usage of these two words…

    I’m thinking that a fool is open to correction, while a scoffer is not.

  7. Math says:

    How about thinking for yourself for once and not let a 2000 years old book guide your every action? You’ve been running this blog for a few years in the current format, now you want to change everything because of one sentence?

    Don’t you have a problem when you have to look into the “deeper meaning” of a sentence? This opens the door to interpretation, hence it introduces a human factor and it distorts what you call the word of God. This will allow you to choose to believe the interpretation that you like best.

    The irony is that this will probably fall within your definition of scoffing.

  8. Math,

    I would say that a fair number of your comments fall within the definition of scoffing.

    The question I have is, what is the difference between a “scoffer” and a “fool”?

    What I said previously is that I want to look deeper into the meaning and usage of these two words. (Not “the “deeper meaning” of a sentence“).

    I truly don’t mean this offensively, but I’m choosing to respond to your comment because you appear to meet the definition of “fool”:

    The fool has said in his heart,“There is no God.” They are corrupt, They have done abominable works, There is none who does good.
    Psalm 14:1

    The fool has said in his heart,“There is no God.” They are corrupt, and have done abominable iniquity; There is none who does good.
    Psalm 53:1

    because, although they knew God, they did not glorify Him as God, nor were thankful, but became futile in their thoughts, and their foolish hearts were darkened.

    Romans 1:21

    You ask:

    How about thinking for yourself for once and not let a 2000 years old book guide your every action?

    Why do I let the Bible be my guide?
    Because:

    All Scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness, that the man of God may be complete, thoroughly equipped for every good work.

    2 Timothy 3:16-17

  9. westexan says:

    Proverbs 9:7 “He who reproves a scoffer gets shame for himself, and he who rebukes a wicked man gets himself a blemish.”

    Matthew 7:6 “Do not give what is holy to the dogs; nor cast your pearls before swine, lest they trample THEM (words of God) under their feet, and turn and tear you in pieces.”

    The “wicked man” is the man who rejects the word of God, the Kingdom of heaven which Jesus preached. The wicked man has committed the unpardonable sin. God cannot forgive any man who refuses to accept God’s “reconciliation” that was/is granted through the sacrifice of His Son. God cannot forgive any man who refuses His forgiveness, IE “grace”.

    Matthew 13:45-46 ” “Again the Kingdom of heaven is like a merchant seeking beautiful pearls, who, when he had found one pearl of great price, went and sold all that he had and bought it.”

    Who would not buy the beautiful pearl?

    Acts 13: 46-47 “Then Paul and Barnabas grew bold and said, “It was necessary that the word of God should be spoken to you (Jewish peoples) first; but since you reject it, and judge yourselves unworthy of everlasting life, behold, we turn to the Gentiles. For so the Lord has commanded us: ‘I have set you to be a light to the Gentiles, That you should be for salvation to the ends of the earth.’ ”

    Did Paul and Barnabas receive shame and blemish (from their own people(s)) because they reproved the scoffers? You bet, Acts 14:4-5. Actually the Jewish leaders (scoffers) tried to kill Paul: Acts 26:21. It was not only the Jew but the Greek (Gentile) who scoffed at the word of God–IE Jesus Christ, 1st Corinthians 1:20-22. Answer a scoffer at your own peril, perhaps there is a chance the scoffer will repent. Are you up to it?It depends on your own spiritual convictions and strength. Are you up to it? God thinks you are.

    Proverbs 26:5 “Answer a fool according to his folly, Lest he be wise in his own eyes.”

    The verse before that offers the best advise. Proverbs 26:4 ” Do not answer a fool according to his folly.” That is a biblical truth. A fool is a fool is a fool. Don’t give up rp, this is a wonderful site.

  10. Math says:

    He who corrects a scoffer gets shame for himself,
    And he who rebukes a wicked man only harms himself.

    What I said previously is that I want to look deeper into the meaning and usage of these two words. (Not “the “deeper meaning” of a sentence“).

    What is the difference? I’d say the definition of scoffer is quite pivotal to the meaning of the sentence wouldn’t you agree?

    Of course, if you use the Bible’s definition, I would be a fool and a scoffer. That’s not a big surprise there. But hey, if you calling me a fool allows you to respond to me without making baby Jesus cry, then by all means be my guest.

    So what you’re telling me is that you let the Bible be your guide because… the Bible tells you so? Quite a chicken and egg conundrum wouldn’t you agree?

  11. Sallyven says:

    Redpill, I hope you post the results of your study on this matter, and on the words “scoffer” and “fool”. I often find myself feeling guilty for NOT responding or providing an answer or defense. How can we know when we should be silent and when we should speak?

    My prayers are often–should I respond or not? And if I should, with what words? And then, for understanding by the other party.

  12. Trevor Hilton says:

    “I’m thinking that a fool is open to correction, while a scoffer is not.”

    You have a point. A “fool” is wrong while a “scoffer” is just stirring up trouble.

  13. Betty says:

    I have been learning to take words from the Bible back to the Hebrew or Greek where they originated, as time and translation tends to change some meanings.
    Fool- Hebrew nabal-stupid; wicked (espec. impious) vile person.

    Scorner- Hebrew- luwts a prim. root- to make mouths at ie to scoff mock make a mockery

    Shame-Hebrew- qalown- reproach; held in contempt

    Ezekiel 3:18&19 When I say unto the wicked thou shalt surely die; and thou givest him not warning nor speakest to warn the wicked from his wicked way to save his life the same wicked man shall die in hes iniquity, but his blood will I require at thine hand. Yet if thou warn the wicked and he turn not from his wickedness nor from his wicked way, he shall die in his iniquity, but thou hast deliverd thy soul.

    I take from this, that is our duty to correct, but you will be scoffed at by the fool…but certainly NOT by GOD.

    It also looks like the word fool has been greatly diluted from the original

    ( Hebrew from Strongs exhaustive concordance)

  14. Ladysforest says:

    Hi Redpill and everyone.

    Let me start by apologizing for this being off topic, but I have no way to reach Redpill privately. :)

    A number of folks that followed Leo and MissT are making a simple effort in the ongoing quest to petition Hawaii for information. It’s a snail mail campaign, and the letters are all prepared, ready to print, sign and send.

    The “mission statement” and the letters are over on my blog:

    http://myveryownpointofview.wordpress.com/

    The latest on Leo’s efforts are posted there as well.

    I humbly ask that any who wish to assist, please visit my blog and download the letters of your choosing.

    If you know of any sites or blogs to forward this request to, feel free to do so, and thank you!

    Thanks Redpill.

    Merry Christmas To Everyone!

  15. Betty,
    Thank you for your comment. Going back to the Hebrew and/or Greek was part of what I wanted to research. I also wanted to compare that with how the words are generally defined today. I appreciate your input.

    Here are some of the modern definitions of fool:

    a person who lacks good judgment
    a person who is gullible and easy to take advantage of

    and some of the modern definitions of scoffer:

    someone who jeers or mocks or treats something with contempt or calls out in derision
    One who ridicules, mocks or makes fun of another person.

    So, by today’s definitions, it would appear that a fool is considered someone who is wrong because they lack good judgment and have gullibly trusted others who have taught them wrong things. For example, many school children are taught the lie of Anthropogenic (man-made) Global Warming, and these schoolchildren foolishly and gullibly believe those lies, because they trust those who are teaching them these lies. But most of these children are not scoffers.

    A scoffer, on the other hand, is very mean-spirited, and loves to attack the person, not the argument. They take wicked delight in ad hominem attacks. Their goal is not to debate or learn, but rather to jeer, mock, deride, ridicule, and generally treat with comtempt those with whom they disagree. I would place many of the powerful people at the heart of the Anthropogenic Global Warming (AGW) movement in the category of “scoffers”. They are not interested in honest scientific discovery and debate, but rather mock, treat with contempt, and try to silence anyone who disagrees with them. “Climategate” has been very revealing, and some of those who have been foolishly deceived in the past will now open their eyes and see the truth, while the scoffers will flatly reject the truth and continue on with their scorn and ridicule. They are too hard-hearted, and too invested in their false religion. Sarah Palin nailed it when she called it an “environmental priesthood“, not science. (By the way, after Sarah had an op-ed published in the Washington Post, Al Gore responded by calling her a “denier” and saying informs that climate change is “a principle in physics. It’s like gravity. It exists.” Sarah Palin responded saying, “Perhaps he’s right. Climate change is like gravity – a naturally occurring phenomenon that existed long before, and will exist long after, any governmental attempts to affect it.“)

    In looking for the historical meaning of Proverbs 9:7, I found the following resource:
    http://www.blueletterbible.org/Bible.cfm?b=Pro&c=9&v=7&t=NKJV#7
    When you click on the “C” icon, it takes you to …
    http://www.blueletterbible.org/Bible.cfm?b=Pro&c=9&v=7&t=NKJV#conc/7
    …which shows the King James Version (KJV) text [rather than the New King James Version (NKJV) text I was looking at previously], along with the Hebrew and Greek.

    The word which is translated “scoffer” in the NKJV is translated “scorner” in the KJV, and following the link for this word (Strong’s H3887) goes to:
    http://www.blueletterbible.org/lang/lexicon/lexicon.cfm?Strongs=H3887&t=NKJV

    There, the outline of Biblical usage includes

    to scorn…talk arrogantly…to mock, deride…scoff, act as a scorner, show oneself a mocker.

    Similarly, the link for Proverbs 26:5 is
    http://www.blueletterbible.org/Bible.cfm?b=Pro&c=26&v=5&t=NKJV#conc/5
    and the word “fool” is Stong’s H3684
    http://www.blueletterbible.org/lang/lexicon/lexicon.cfm?Strongs=H3684&t=NKJV

    There, the outline of Biblical usage includes

    fool, stupid fellow, dullard, simpleton, arrogant one

    So, while a “fool” may at times be “arrogant”, it appears that it leans more towards someone who is just foolishly stupid, while a “scoffer” appears more evil and hard-hearted and delights in mocking and deriding what is true and good.

    Given that, I’m still inlcined to think that a fool is open to correction, while a scoffer is not.

  16. Math,

    You said,

    Of course, if you use the Bible’s definition, I would be a fool and a scoffer.

    My question to you is, are you open to correction, or not?

  17. Ladysforest,

    Thanks for your comment, and your perseverence. If Hawaiian officials had nothing to hide, they would obey their own law and make public the Attorney General’s opinion letter that enabled Dr. Fukino to make her second News Release.

    All of those who desire “transparency” from our government would like some straightforward answers to some simple questions:
    1) Why did Dr. Fukino release a second statement in July 2009? What was the driving force behind her doing so?
    2) What vital records and legal reasoning were used to construct that statement?
    3) Why did the State of Hawaii publicly say “Obama was born in Hawaii” only a few hours AFTER the U.S. House of Representatives voted in favor of a Resolution stating, in part, “Obama was born in Hawaii”? Why didn’t Dr. Fukino say “Obama was born in Hawaii” in her October 2008 News Release?

  18. Math says:

    My question to you is, are you open to correction, or not?

    Of course I am. But you will need better arguments than “because the Bible says so” to convince me though.

  19. Math,

    My question to you is, are you open to correction, or not?

    Of course I am. But you will need better arguments than “because the Bible says so” to convince me though.

    I’m happy to hear that.

    I don’t expect “because the Bible says so” to convince you, and that’s not what convinced me. To explain what convinced me is to really explain my testimony. And I’m realizing that while I’ve mentioned it (for example on my “About” page), I don’t think I’ve ever really explained my testimony on this blog. Give me a little time to work on writing it up, and I will do my best to explain what convinced me. It’s not my job to convince you. That’s between you and God. But it is my responsibility to share my testimony. And if that helps you, great.

  20. Math,

    You’re looking for evidence of things not seen.

    I would guess that while you may have spent your life around people who call themselves “Christian”, you have probably never spent any significant time around people who had true, mountain-moving faith in Jesus Christ.

    I was raised in a Christian home, but considered myself an agnostic for a long time.

    I didn’t just blindly accept my parents’ beliefs. I questioned how someone could really know the truth. I recognized that when you look around the world today, or look back throughout history, you don’t ever find a society that has no form of religion at all. You may find some atheists as part of the population, but you never find a completely atheistic society. Every human society across the globe and across time has always worshipped one or more higher being(s).

    That common seeking for God, across time and geography, is undeniable. Yet, there are many different faiths. So, what does that mean? I reasoned that either:

    A) There is no God, and man just has a basic human need to explain what they can’t explain, so God becomes their explanation. I looked at how the Greeks explained the sun as a God because they couldn’t explain it any other way.

    - OR -

    B) There is a God, who created us with a need to seek Him, but man often misses the mark and creates his own God instead of looking for the true God.

    Again I questioned how someone could really know the truth. I was seeking the truth, looking for evidence of an unseen God.

    One of the things that impacted me greatly was seeing multiple people whose lives had been completely transformed by their acceptance of Jesus Christ as their Lord and Savior. They were not the same now as they used to be. One in particular had been a very poorly educated manual laborer before, and who had grown to become a business leader of a 10,000 person organization. I asked what gave him the self-image to go from where he was to where he is, and to speak in front of 10,000 people?

    He credits his transformation and his success to his faith in Jesus Christ.

    Now here’s the thing: even as an agnostic, I knew that this man’s faith had enabled him to do something he could not have done without that faith.

    Whether I believed Jesus Christ was God or not, that man’s faith in Jesus Christ was undeniably real and powerful.

    Even if one played the “Devil’s advocate”, and said that Jesus was not really the son of God, there was no denying that this businessman’s faith was real, and that his faith, even in something the “Devil’s advocate” would say is not real, nevertheless produced real results. But how could something not real produce real results?

    That faith was evidence of things not seen.

    And that faith helped draw me to faith in Jesus Christ.

    And it wasn’t just the faith of a single man. I spent six months “seeking”, and saw real-life examples of scores of people whose lives were radically changed for the better by their faith in Jesus Christ. One could argue all one wanted about whether or not God was real, but one couldn’t argue with these changed lives. In a very different venue, I invite you to look at how God is changing the lives of young women at Mercy Ministries, and compare the results of that program to the results of any secular program anywhere in the world. Again, one can’t argue with these changed lives.

    While you do not see Jesus Christ walking the face of the earth today, every life that has been changed by faith in Jesus Christ is more evidence of Him.

    It wasn’t until after I accepted Jesus Christ as my Lord and Savior that I later found this explanation of what I had experienced:

    Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.

    Hebrews 11:1

  21. Sallyven says:

    Redpill, thank you for that beautifully written testimony.

    Math, like Redpill, I don’t expect that for me to say “because the Bible says so” to convince you either. But, like these verses in Proverbs 2 emphasize, I do believe that for you to actually read it, with a real desire to seek truth and answers, will:

    3 and if you call out for insight
    and cry aloud for understanding,

    4 and if you look for it as for silver
    and search for it as for hidden treasure,

    5 then you will understand the fear of the LORD
    and find the knowledge of God.

    Have you ever read the Bible? Recently? A whole chapter or book, not just excerpts?

    I strongly suggest you start with the Gospel of John. It expresses the character of Jesus in a very compelling way. It’s not very long. And get a good translation. I highly recommend the NIV.

    And before you read it, ask God to help you understand it.

    You obviously have many questions, or I suspect you wouldn’t be here arguing on this blog.

    You said you were open to correction. You owe it to yourself to search for answers. What have you got to lose?

  22. I would assume that anyone reading and posting on your blog is, by definition, extremely wise.

  23. Todd,

    Thank you for your comment and your kind words.

  24. westexan says:

    “Do not speak in the hearing of a fool, for he will despise the wisdom of your words.” (Proverbs 23:9)

    “How long, you simple ones, will you love simplicity? For scorners delight in their scorning, and fools hate knowledge.” (Proverbs 2:22)

    “I [Paul, the apostle] charge you therefore before God and the Lord and Jesus Christ, who will judge the living and the dead at His appearing and His Kingdom: Preach the word! Be ready in season and out of season [constantly and continuously], convince, rebuke, exhort, with all longsuffering and teaching.” (2nd Timothy 4:1-2)

    Does the new [Testament] supercede the old [Testament]? Yes.

    “—-: If any brother has a wife who does not believe, and she is willing to live with him, let him not divorce her. And a woman who has a husband who does not believe, if he is willing to live with her, let her not divorce him. For the unbelieving husband is sanctified by the wife, and the unbelieving wife is sanctified by the the husband; otherwise your children would be unclean, but now they are holy. But if the unbeliever departs, let him depart; a brother or a sister is not under bondage in such cases. But God has called us to peace. For how do you know, O wife, whether you will save your husband? Or how do you know, O husband, whether you will save your wife?” (1st Cor. 7:12–16)

    Be ready in season and out of season to rebuke, exhort, and/or teach but never retreat. Jesus never retreated, even in the face of the scoffers and fools. A believing husband may or may not save his unbelieving wife and a wife may or may not save an unbelieving husband.

    This goes all the way back to Genesis, the first scoffer was Cain, “Am I my brother’s keeper?” Is it a coincidence Cain is not named in the geneaology of Adam? (Genesis 5:1–4). Why?Because Cain was of the serpent and not of Adam. Abel was not named in that genealogy because he died [was murdered]. The God kind was Adam. The Serpent kind was Cain. There were two seeds mentioned in Genesis. Her, Eves’ seed, implanted by the Serpent and the seed implanted by her husband, Adam, the God kind. Adam’s seed and the serpent’s seed are two different seeds. They are with us today. Two seeds are here today.

    When God destroyed all life on earth a remnant remained in the wife of Shem.

    Genesis 6 describes the situation of the population of the earth in the days of Noah before the flood. In Chpt 6 verse 4 God says ” There were giants on the earth in those days, AND ALSO AFTERWARDS, when the sons of God (Adam) came into the daughter’s of men (Cain) and they bore children to them. That is to say there was a people of God (spiritual) and a people of the Serpent ( soulless, or without the spirit of God or man) that intermarried. Those people, or hominids, are with us today. Can we believe a book that ends differently than that in which it begin? There was the God Kind and the serpent kind of seed that begin the Christian bible– ” I [God] will put enmity between your [Serpent's] seed and her [Eve's] seed. Should we believe all the bible or only parts of the bible? There are two seeds in the world today. There are the scoffers and fools. Did Christ come into the world to save sinners–scoffers and fools– or to save the righteouss? Should preachers preach only to the choir? Just asking.

  25. westexan says:

    I should have said a remnant of the “seed of Ham remained” in the wife of Cain after the flood or deluge. Sorry for the mistake. My fingers sometime outrun the brain.

  26. Timothy Houston says:

    The main thing of importance when dealing with scoffers is, what profit can be gained by speaking with them. I believe this falls under the same category as casting pearls before swine. Matthew 7:6, Give not that which is holy unto the dogs, neither cast ye your pearls before swine, lest they trample them under their feet, and turn again and rend you. Scoffers have no serious desire to discuss matters of vital importance to mankind. They do not walk by faith, like believers do, but by sight, II Corinthians 5:7. Like the evil servant talked about in Matthew 24:48, as those in the days of Noah, the same continues today, because of the longsuffering of God, which should lead men to repentance, because he delays his coming, men and women scoff. They would not listen and made fun of the apostles, nothing has changed. The philosophers in Acts 17:18, had this attitude toward Paul, “What will this babbler say?” Without faith, which is the very basis for the salvation of mankind, we cannot please God Hebrews 11:6, we shall die in our sins John 8:24. If people do not believe in the existence of the Savior, why should they believe in his return? Paul’s warning in the book of II Timothy 3:12-13, explains the continual attitude and condition of men all the way until the Lord returns. Scoffing unto believers, is a form of persecution, is it not? He said, “Yea, and all that will live godly in Christ Jesus shall suffer persecution. But evil men and seducers shall wax worse and worse, deceiving, and being deceived. The key for us is verse 14, we must continue in the things which we have learned and have been assured of, because of the source, who we learned them from. Peter in II Peter 3:5, says that they are willingly ignorant of these things. Some seem to think that if they ignore these things they will not happen. The wise man Solomon also had some things to say as to why many will scoff. In Ecclesiastes 8:11-13, which has to do with those who scoff at the judgment of God against evil doers when he does return, they scoff once again because of the delay, they think they are getting away with it. Because sentence against an evil work is not executed speedily, therefore the heart of the sons of men is fully set in them to do evil.
    Though a sinner do evil an hundred times, and his days be prolonged, yet surely I know that it shall be well with them that fear God, which fear before him: But it shall not be well with the wicked, neither shall he prolong his days, which are as a shadow; because he feareth not before God.The last verse is the main reason why people scoff, because they do not respect God and take his word seriously. I Peter 3:15, But sanctify the Lord God in your hearts: and be ready always to give an answer to every man that asketh you a reason of the hope that is in you with meekness and fear: We are serious about telling others the truth of God’s word, because, it is in us with meekness and fear, (respect for God), knowing assuredly if he said it, it will come to pass. But we must not continue to waste time with those who live for nothing other than to scoff and ridicule us and God. Those who choose to ignore the teachings of God and are intent on living any way they want, Paul tells us in Romans 1:26, that God gave them up, and because people are not willing to receive the love of the truth, that they might be saved, Paul also tells us, for this cause God shall send them strong delusion, that they should believe a lie: that they all might be damned who believe not the truth, but had pleasure in unrighteousness, II Thessalonians 2:10-12. Before they crucified Christ they scoffed, made fun of, and ridiculed him. He gave his life for those scoffers, they did not appreciate it then, and they still do not today.

Leave a Reply

