Prayer, Palin, Obama, & Gitmo

Oh, magnify the LORD with me,
And let us exalt His name together.

Psalm 34:3

For where two or three are gathered together in My name, I am there in the midst of them.

Matthew 18:20

Now I beg you, brethren, through the Lord Jesus Christ, and through the love of the Spirit, that you strive together with me in prayers to God for me, that I may be delivered from those in Judea who do not believe, and that my service for Jerusalem may be acceptable to the saints, that I may come to you with joy by the will of God, and may be refreshed together with you.

Romans 15:30-32

Some have tried to criticize Sarah Palin for: 1) wanting to pray with someone else, and 2) choosing to pray with her daughter Piper instead of with members of the McCain campaign.

I fully support her decision. When I ask someone to pray with me, I want it to be someone whom I feel confident will be praying in agreement with me in faith (not doubt).

Given what Jesus said:

Then Jesus called a little child to Him, set him in the midst of them, and said, “Assuredly, I say to you, unless you are converted and become as little children, you will by no means enter the kingdom of heaven. Therefore whoever humbles himself as this little child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.

Matthew 18:2-4

I would much rather pray with a child who has “childlike faith” than with an adult who believes that evangelical Christians are “Agents of Intolerance“.

Since people are criticizing Palin’s prayer, let’s take a look at a prayer Obama said:

Mr. Obama recalled the opening lines of the Arabic call to prayer, reciting them with a first-rate accent.In a remark that seemed delightfully uncalculated (it’ll give Alabama voters heart attacks), Mr. Obama described the call to prayer as “one of the prettiest sounds on Earth at sunset.”

The Adhan is the Islamic call to prayer, and begins with four recitals of the words “Allahu Akbar“. 

The opening lines of that prayer, which Obama recited in Arabic with a first-rate accent, are translated:

Allah is The Greatest.
Allah is The Greatest.
Allah is The Greatest.
Allah is The Greatest.
I bear witness that there is no deity except Allah.
I bear witness that there is no deity except Allah.
I bear witness that Muhammad is the Messenger of Allah.
I bear witness that Muhammad is the Messenger of Allah.

Got that?  Obama confessed with his own mouth, with a first-rate accent, the Arabic words for “I bear witness that there is no deity except Allah” and  “I bear witness that Muhammad is the Messenger of Allah”.

Barack Hussein Obama has proudly confessed the words that convince many Muslims that he is a Muslim.

Barack Hussein Obama claims to be a “committed Christian”, yet has been unwilling to confess with his mouth the words “Jesus is Lord”.

Given Jeremiah Wright’s close relationship with Louis Farrakhan, his promotion of Palestinians against Israel, and other well-known tirades  (“G-d D-mn America!”), it appears that the “church” Obama attended for 20+ years has more in common with the Nation of Islam than it does with Jesus Christ.

I believe that Obama’s faith is the same now as it was on his school registration in Indonesia: ISLAM.  That school was a Christian school, but Obama was specifically registered with religion: Islam.

Obama claims he’s “never been a Muslim”.  Yet I don’t know anyone who has “never been a Muslim” that can (and chooses to) recite the Islamic call to prayer at all, let alone with a first-rate Arabic accent.

Ever heard of Taqiyya?

Anyone can lie and say, “I am a Christian”.  But the Holy Bible, the inerrant Word of God, says that without the Holy Spirit, no one can say, “Jesus is Lord”.

Therefore I make known to you that no one speaking by the Spirit of God calls Jesus accursed, and no one can say that Jesus is Lord except by the Holy Spirit.

1 Corinthians 12:3

Therefore whoever confesses Me before men, him I will also confess before My Father who is in heaven. But whoever denies Me before men, him I will also deny before My Father who is in heaven.

Matthew 10:32-33

that if you confess with your mouth the Lord Jesus and believe in your heart that God has raised Him from the dead, you will be saved.

Romans 10:9

Barack Hussein Obama, with his own mouth, has spoken words praising the god of Mohammed, but has so far refused to speak the words praising the God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob.  He has refused to acknowledge the truth.

Jesus is Lord!

Barack Hussein Obama, can you say those three simple words?  If not, you’re not a Christian. 

It would appear that if Obama wanted someone to pray in agreement with him, he could pray with his “family friend” Bill Ayers, who named his children after Allah and the orphan boy fostered by the Muslim Prophet Muhammad (See the meanings of the names Malik and Zayd). 

Or perhaps Obama would pray with the terrorists that he wants to release from Gitmo onto the streets of the United States.  Perhaps Obama sees them as “fellow travellers” on his “journey”:

But my journey is part of a larger journey – one shared by all who’ve ever sought to apply the values of their faith to our society. It’s a journey that takes us back to our nation’s founding, when none other than a UCC church inspired the Boston Tea Party and helped bring an Empire to its knees.

UPDATE: On April 2, 2009 President Barack Hussein Obama bent low to the King of the country which supplied most of the 9/11 terrorists.

bokissingkingshand

White House: Bow? What bow?

Can you handle these truths?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Prayer, Palin, Obama, & Gitmo

  1. Jonah says:

    I’m curious, what do you think should be done with the Guantanamo detainees? Do you think that our country should be in the business of torture? Let’s hear your proposed solution.

  2. Jonah,

    You ignore the whole point of this post, but I’ll address your distraction anyway.

    As allowed by the Geneva convention, keep the enemy combatants detained in Guantanamo.

    And we aren’t in “the business of torture”. If you want that, try being held by Islamic Jihadists and see how that turns out for you.

  3. Jonah says:

    Red,

    The whole point of the post is the whole point of the blog, and I’ve long since tired of that discussion. Whether or not you consider your views on Obama to be that of conspiracy theory or not, they are still about Obama, and I’m not here to talk about people. I’m here to talk about issues. I will continue to respond to only the parts of your posts that I find interesting.

    As a Christian, do you really believe it’s enough to know that Jihadists treat prisoners worse than us? Shouldn’t we aspire to be the best society we can, rather than merely better than the worst?

    I submit the following: regardless of whether or not our treatment of prisoners in Guantanamo obeys the Geneva convention, its existence continues to be a PR disaster for our country. As long as Al-Qaeda can talk about how we flush our prisoners’ Korans down toilets, their boosted recruitment numbers from the image of Guantanamo will undermine our fight in the war on terror.

    Certainly we shouldn’t release the detainees onto the streets, at least those whom we have reason to believe are dangerous, but nobody is suggesting that. What we are suggesting is that Guantanamo has been a disgrace to the nation.

  4. The whole point of this blog is to discuss the two issues that affect our lives the most, yet we’re often told not to discuss them: Religion and Politics. From time to time I’ll post something unrelated to Religion and/or Politics, but that’s infrequent.

    The true religion of our President, Speaker of the House, etc. is relevant, because they portray themselves one way, but there is more evidence to the contrary. Like it or not, there is more evidence of Obama confessing “I bear witness that there is no deity except Allah” and “I bear witness that Muhammad is the Messenger of Allah” than there is of Obama confessing “Jesus is Lord”.

    Similarly, there is more evidence of Nancy Pelosi fraudulently quoting fabricated “scripture” than there is of Pelosi quoting real scripture.

    There is no religious test to hold office in the United States, but we do expect honesty and integrity from our elected officials.

    Christians generally do prefer to vote for Christians (and with good reason*), and if a politician falsely pretends to be a Bible-believing Christian just so they can get elected, that is just the tip of the iceberg of the “Culture of Corruption”.

    * The first Chief Justice of the United States Supreme Court said:

    Providence [God] has given to our people the choice of their rulers, and it is the duty, as well as the privilege and interest, of a Christian nation to select and prefer Christians for their rulers.

  5. As long as Al-Qaeda can talk about how we flush our prisoners’ Korans down toilets, their boosted recruitment numbers from the image of Guantanamo will undermine our fight in the war on terror.

    The supposed “Koran flushing incident at Gitmo” was a HOAX.

    And do you think that if Al-Qaeda flushed prisoners’ Bibles down toilets that would inspire Christians to become suicide bombers?

  6. Certainly we shouldn’t release the detainees onto the streets, at least those whom we have reason to believe are dangerous, but nobody is suggesting that.

    Have you read what Obama’s Attorney General is suggesting?

    http://hotair.com/archives/2009/03/19/ready-to-welcome-your-friendly-neighborhood-gitmo-terrorist/

  7. Jonah says:

    Christians generally do prefer to vote for Christians (and with good reason*), and if a politician falsely pretends to be a Bible-believing Christian just so they can get elected, that is just the tip of the iceberg of the “Culture of Corruption”.

    I agree that there are probably a good deal more professed Christians in politics than there are actual Christians, and that this is a bad thing. I would love it if atheism weren’t as stigmatized as it is today, where declaration of such is political suicide. But really, it’s hard to bemoan the number of “fake Christians” in Congress while simultaneously offering a quote that says, basically, that nobody else is (or should be) electable.

    But, yes, I do find politics boring, at least the kind of politics you talk about. I find no pleasure in discussing the minutiae of what Pelosi or Obama or McCain or Palin or Biden or Bush said to whom and when and why. I’m much more interested in discussing the fundamental issues we’re supposed to be arguing about in the first place. This focus on the messenger is the distraction, and I’m not listening to it.

  8. Jonah says:

    The supposed “Koran flushing incident at Gitmo” was a HOAX.

    Interesting. I didn’t know that. Thanks for correcting me. That said, the fact that this hoax fits so well with what else we know about Guantanamo only underlines my point: its existence, symbolically, is a blemish on this country, and we’ll be better off the sooner it’s closed down.

    And do you think that if Al-Qaeda flushed prisoners’ Bibles down toilets that would inspire Christians to become suicide bombers?

    Your comfort in comparing yourself with suicide bombers is startling. As I said above, should we really be content with just being better than that?

    Have you read what Obama’s Attorney General is suggesting?

    Yes, and I believe it involved looking individually at each case and figuring out what to do over a period of about one year. Given that there are probably some innocent people incarcerated in Gitmo, I’m not offended by the idea that some might be released.

  9. But really, it’s hard to bemoan the number of “fake Christians” in Congress while simultaneously offering a quote that says, basically, that nobody else is (or should be) electable.

    The whole idea of representative government is that people are looking for candidates who will represent their values. When the country is majority Christian, that should, and does, translate into a preference for Christian candidates.

    Some candidates do run with openly-confessed values that are not Biblical (for example, openly homosexual or Muslim), and some of them do win. I have no issue with that… the electorate got what it expected from them.

    I have an issue with any candidate pretending to be something they are not, or hiding something they are.

  10. Even though I’ve posted a few more posts and comments since the “Sabbatical” post, I really do need to step away from blogging until I get my taxes done.

  11. Jonah says:

    I have an issue with any candidate pretending to be something they are not, or hiding something they are.

    Me too. But I hope you appreciate the irony between your addressing of the problem while simultaneously quoting the primary motivation for its perpetration.

  12. Jonah says:

    Even though I’ve posted a few more posts and comments since the “Sabbatical” post, I really do need to step away from blogging until I get my taxes done.

    Sure. I’ve actually been thinking about something for a while, and I think this could benefit the conversation here considerably. Let me offer a proposal.

    Both of us have done a lot more writing than reading these past few days, and I think it shows in the disconnect we have over some fundamental issues, especially the cultural ones. I have a suggestion: let’s take a break from the discussion for two weeks, and in the meantime do what one might call an RSS book club. I name a liberal blog that I think you should read, and you name a conservative blog that I should read. We subscribe to the other’s blog (if you use an RSS reader) for two weeks, reading every post but not commenting. After that, we reconvene here and, with luck, begin the dialogue again with a better understanding of the other side.

    Part of my motivation for this is that I’d love to temporarily relegate the “educate Red about liberals” duties onto a better writer than myself. So I present to you Ta-Nehisi Coates, blogger for the Atlantic. Here‘s his blog, and here‘s a recent-ish post that might as well serve as an introduction.

    Now you present a blog to me (pretty much anything is fair game; yours is the only conservative blog I RSS, though I occasionally visit Malkin when my morbid curiosity for political gossip gets the best of me), and we talk again circa April 12th. Deal?

  13. Thomas Shawn says:

    Hmm, the The blogger writes “I know white people aren’t embarrassed by Glenn Beck. But seriously, you guys really should be. Come on white folks, where’s that sense of solidarity you’ve showed for centuries? You guys are a sorry bunch. Keep this up and the nigras will be marrying yer daughters!!”

    Jonah, do you really endorse this “dialogue”?

  14. Jonah says:

    And later,

    I don’t know what to do with people who think I literally believe white people should show the same sort of solidarity they’ve shown for the past centuries. Or that the nigras are really dead-set on marrying their daughters. But for the record, I don’t think white people have to answer for Glenn Beck. It was a joke. I can deal with arguments. But the inability to see ones tongue planted in the cheek is too much. You don’t have to think the joke is funny. You don’t even have to like it. But you have to at least be able to recognize when someone is kidding. If you’re looking humorlessness and dispassion, the web is full of it. We don’t need more of it here.

    Yes, I’m sure you’ll find yourself offended by the blog every now and then, but that’s the point. This is about growth and comfort zones. Hopefully whenever Red takes me up on the offer, the blog he chooses for me will be similarly shocking at times.

  15. Jonah says:

    On a totally unrelated note, Red, do you have any idea why blockquoted text is sometimes boldface? It looks like it happens to you occasionally as well.

  16. Thomas Shawn says:

    Not offended, just surprised by the racist prattle. I know people really think like this … but to have it touted as good blog worthy of discussion is really surprising.

  17. Jonah says:

    I wasn’t really referring to Coates’ humor when I recommended his blog. This isn’t to say that he isn’t funny, but humor is rarely a good starting off point when you’re trying to bridge cultural gaps. It’s certainly the most easily misunderstood method of human communication.

  18. Thomas Shawn says:

    And I wasn’t referring to humor when I noted Coates’ racist commentary. I was referring to racism, there’s nothing to misunderstand.

  19. Jonah says:

    If you mean that you’re referring to a blog as a whole, and not just the post you cited, then I’m in the “strongly disagree” camp.

  20. Jonah says:

    Unrelated, Red, but I thought you’d enjoy this Onion article.

  21. Yes, that was funny. Very good satire. I especially liked how it ended:

    Still reeling from the controversy of having three of his Cabinet nominees investigated for owing back taxes, President Barack Obama attempted to distance himself from this latest situation.

    “I’m sorry, but I barely know this woman,” Obama said during his testimony before the committee. “Apart from a few conversations we’ve had in the past eight years, I’d say she’s a complete stranger.”

    Yeah, Barack says she’s “a girl who lives in his neighborhood”, while Sasha says she’s “family friends” with Barack.
    ;-)
    (Hopefully you get the reference, but if not, read this.)

    Just curious… you wouldn’t happen to know her middle name, would you? We do know that her first name (Natasha or Sasha) has strong Russian connotations. I’d love to know what Barack and Michelle chose for her middle name. Malia’s middle name (Ann) has been openly divulged. Sasha’s hasn’t. I wonder why.

  22. Jax says:

    I’d have to see video of this “bow” to believe that it wasn’t just Obama walking up to him and stumbling. What is known is that President Bush held the same man’s hand as they strolled through the Rose Garden together, and kissed him full on the lips at the end of their meeting. Presumably because he didn’t present his ass.

    Keep up this same logical reasoning, Red. It’s sure to lead your party right back into power.

  23. Jonah says:

    Nah, that bow was legit. And Red’s right, presidents aren’t supposed to bow to monarchs like that.

    But I disagree when he says that such a mistake actually indicates anything other than a little diplomatic inexperience. Recall that Clinton did the same thing (to the Emperor of Japan) early in his presidency and also got flak for it, but nobody suggested that this meant he was a secret Buddhist.

  24. Jax,
    If it is video you desire, then click on either the picture or the “Bow? What bow?” link and you will find not 1 but 2 videos there.

  25. Jonah,

    Indeed, the bow was legit, and thank you for saying so. The Queen of England is shorter than the King of Saudi Arabia, yet Barack did not lower his complete head below the Queen’s shoulder line, as he did with the King. There was a very distinct difference in how he greeted these two monarchs, so I don’t go with the “diplomatic inexperience” explanation.

    I don’t know the faith of the Emperor of Japan, but I’ll go along with your implication that he is a Buddhist. In regards to the Clinton bow, here are some possible reasons why nobody suggested that this meant Clinton was a secret Buddhist, yet some (like me) suggest that Obama’s bow could suggest that he is a secret Muslim…

    Clinton never attended a Catholic school, registered as a Buddhist.
    Obama did attend a Catholic school, registered as a Muslim.

    Clinton never attended school in the world’s most populous Buddhist nation.
    Obama did attend school in the world’s most populous Muslim nation.

    Clinton never published a book in the world’s most populous Buddhist nation, with the title, “Assault Hope: From Nepal to the White House”.
    Obama published a book in the world’s most populous Muslim nation, with the title, “Assault Hope: From Jakarta to the White House”.

    Clinton never said, “My Buddhist faith”.
    Obama said, “My Muslim faith”.

    Clinton was never “family friends” with domestic terrorists who gave their children Buddhist names.
    Obama was “family friends” with domestic terrorists who gave their children Muslim names.

  26. Jonah says:

    Yeah, and I’ve already told you why I think all of those reasons are irrelevant. I’m not really interested in arguing this point with you any more.

    Can we talk about global warming? Or if you’re feeling topical, maybe gay marriage? I like it better when we discuss actual issues.

  27. Jonah,

    It appears that whatever you don’t want to discuss is “irrelevant”. Any one of those things, in isolation, probably wouldn’t be a big deal. But you put all of them (and more!) together, and it’s like a puzzle… the more pieces that are put into place, the more clearly you see the big picture.

  28. Jonah says:

    Nah, I think I’m pretty consistent about this: I don’t like talking about specific people, because I don’t consider myself responsible for their beliefs. I’m responsible for my beliefs, and that’s what I’d like to defend.

    But sure, I can tell you why I think all the pieces are irrelevant, even put together. It’s because there aren’t nearly as many pieces as you think, but rather multiple incarnations of the same piece. Of the five you cite, there are really two things going on: (a) Obama grew up around a diverse group of people, many of them Muslim, and (b) Obama is a nuanced guy, who frequently says things that are easy to misinterpret.

    (a) explains the first, second and fifth facts. Obviously how six-year-old is registered in a public school says little about the six-year-old’s beliefs. I don’t know much about your religion, but I do know that it took you several decades before you came into your own mind ideologically, and the end result had little in common with your upbringing and education. Why do you expect it to be different with others?

    (a) and (b) together explain the rest. A bizarre translation of a Obama’s book title says much more about the publisher than about him, anyway. And nuanced people often say confusing things in subordinate clauses that are easy to misunderstand out of context. And even if Obama had actually described himself as Muslim in that interview, I don’t believe that slips of the tongue or other gaffes really tell us anything about someone’s actual beliefs. The policies they implement are much more telling.

  29. A bizarre translation of a Obama’s book title says much more about the publisher than about him, anyway.

    You really believe that?

    It’s Obama’s book, and since he spent his formative years growing up in Jakarta, Indonesia, I think it’s safe to say that he knew exactly what the translated title said and meant.

  30. Jonah says:

    You really believe that?

    Um, yeah. I briefly interned for a small publishing company, and I know that translations are almost always outsourced to third parties unrelated to the author, and furthermore that authors (especially when they’re busy running for president) aren’t always kept apprised of side promotions, translations, and special editions of their works. I’m sure this is especially true of large publishing companies (like Random House) handling popular authors (like Obama). And a cursory internet search indeed shows that the localization was outsourced to Ufuk Press (who, interestingly, have since changed the name, presumably because it was a bad translation).

  31. Jax says:

    Red,

    You tagged Jonah by claiming that what he didn’t want to discuss was irrelevant, yet you completely skipped over my point that President Bush’s behavior toward the King of Saudi Arabia was far more submissive than President Obama’s. Although perhaps hand-holding and kisses fall right in line with your ideas of strong moral opposition. Your wife must be so confused.

  32. “far more submissive”? So, you admit that Obama’s actions were submissive, but you think it’s OK becuase you think Bush was “far more” submissive?

    I don’t agree with Bush holding hands with the Saudi king. I also don’t agree with Bush initially thinking Vladimir Putin was a good man. I also don’t agree with Bush thinking Henry Paulson is a good man. I also don’t agree with Bush thinking Barack Obama is a good man.

    I think all four of those men want to see the U.S. made weaker, not stronger, and they are not “good men”.

    I think Bush is a good man at heart, but he is also incredibly naive, and allowed himself to be influenced by people he thought were good men, but who really aren’t.

  33. Jonah says:

    I think Bush is a good man at heart, but he is also incredibly naive, and allowed himself to be influenced by people he thought were good men, but who really aren’t.

    I find this quote fascinating. Isn’t one of your primary grievances with Obama that he “pals around” with bad men and possibly allowed himself to be influenced by them? A large number of the charges you bring against him are of this form: his associations with William Ayers, Jeremiah Wright, Tony Rezko, basically anyone in Indonesia or Kenya, etc. I’m sure you could extend this list for a few paragraphs. There have been occasional policy grievances, especially with respect to taxes (which I don’t think we’ve discussed enough, really), but for the most part it’s about his specific associations.

    Here’s my question: why do you give Bush the benefit of the doubt for the same thing? You can talk about the associations Obama has had through his church, family, and political connections, but look at the bad men around Bush. They were his cabinet! Cheney, Rumsfeld, Rove, Libby, Ashcroft, and Gonzalez? There’s a whole host of people constantly pushing for things I’d think you, as a Christian, would abhor. More war, more torture, more spying, more capital punishment, more illegal detainments, more partisan politics, more obfuscation. How do you come out of this saying that Bush was merely naïve, while Obama is the evil one?

  34. Jonah,

    Bill Ayers is a self-professed communist revolutionary and “family friends” with Obama. Obama has spent his entire life being raised by Marxists and actively choosing to associate with and be mentored by Marxists. He even wrote about it in his book… he wrote about “Frank” who was Communist Party USA member Frank Marshall Davis, and Obama also wrote:

    “…I chose my friends carefully. The more politically active black students. The foreign students. The Chicanos. The Marxist professors and structural feminists.”

    George W. Bush, on the other hand, was not actively choosing to associate with Marxists. Rather, he was fooled by some people who are wolves in sheep’s clothing.

    I am inclined not to trust anyone who is a member of the Trilateral Commission or Council on Foreign Relations. That includes George H. W. Bush (41), Dick Cheney, Alan Greenspan, George Soros, Paul Volcker, and more.

    President Jimmy Carter appointed 26 former Trilateral Commission members to senior positions in his Administration. Later it was revealed that Carter himself was a former Trilateral member.

    Zbigniew Brzezinski, Carter’s National Security officer and the man reponsible for accomplishing one of the Communist Goals of the early 1960’s (#44 Internationalize the Panama Canal), is now one of Obama’s advisors. So is Paul Volcker.

    In my opinion, possibly the biggest mistake President Ronald Reagan ever made was selecting George H. W. Bush as his running mate. While Reagan was part of the solution, he allowed a man who was part of the problem to be his VP, which opened the door to him becoming the forty-first president.

    In my opinion, possibly the biggest mistake President George W. Bush (43) ever made was trusting his own father and the people that his father trusted.

    This probably deserves more explanation than I have time to give it now, but the “progressive” socialist/communist/”new world order”/”one world government” people have been at work against our government for well over 100 years, working through both the Republican and Democratic parties. I think that since 1960, only two Presidents have actively fought the expansion of communism and the Marxist dream of World Revolution. Those two Presidents were John F. Kennedy, and Ronald Reagan. And both of them were shot, one fatally.

    Senator Joe McCarthy wasn’t wrong, he was proven right.

    Drawing on primary sources—including never-before-published government records and FBI files, as well as recent research gleaned from Soviet archives and intercepted transmissions between Moscow spymasters and their agents in the United States—Evans presents irrefutable evidence of a relentless Communist drive to penetrate our government, influence its policies, and steal its secrets. Most shocking of all, he shows that U.S. officials supposedly guarding against this danger not only let it happen but actively covered up the penetration. All of this was precisely as Joe McCarthy contended.

    There are very few that we can trust in our government. People are waking up to that, and that is a major part of what the “Tea Parties” are all about.

  35. Jonah,
    And while we beat up on the Bush administration, realize that many of the things you didn’t like about it aren’t being ended (as was promised), but rather expanded:

    The Bush administration got excoriated by the Left for its expansive use of the state-secrets doctrine. Barack Obama and other Democratic presidential hopefuls pounded Bush for its use. In fact, that was one of the principal components of Hope and Change — a shift away from secrecy and back to the “rule of law,” although no one has shown how Bush actually broke any laws in the first place. Apparently, Obama agrees, and as Jake Tapper reports, has decided to expand the Bush practice on state secrets

  36. Jonah says:

    …I chose my friends carefully. The more politically active black students. The foreign students. The Chicanos. The Marxist professors and structural feminists.

    Well, so did I. It’s called college, and some point along the way you grow up and realize that the world isn’t as simple as the Marxists and McCarthyists think it is, that there are no vast left-wing or right-wing conspiracies, but rather that we’re all simultaneously trying to figure everything out, and that those who disagree with us aren’t part of some evil plot. But apparently some people fall through the cracks, and you end up with a bunch of hysterical Glenn Becks (and Michael Moores) who still think the world is a comic book. That’s what the Tea Parties are about.

    So, yeah, Obama was friends with radicals. Attribute that to fact (c), Obama was friends with a lot of people. Politicians are like that. What you have repeatedly failed to show is that these friendships have actually influenced Obama’s policies in any way. Yes, yes, you think his platform is indistinguishable from that of the Communist Party. And every time you say that I ask, “then why isn’t he advocating Communism?” And you retreat and say that he can’t actually advocate it yet, but he’s leading us down the road towards it.

    Look, I’ll agree that Obama’s proposed tax plan is left of Bush’s. That’s one of the reasons I voted for him. But your habit of conflating a progressive tax structure with communism is baffling to me. Please, explain it. Perhaps you could start by answering the following question: what tax system do you think is most fair, and why?

    And while we beat up on the Bush administration, realize that many of the things you didn’t like about it aren’t being ended (as was promised), but rather expanded.

    Yup. And at an ACLU meeting I attended a few weeks ago, there was a lot of outrage about exactly this behavior. Don’t think that because we liberals agree with Obama on the major points, we’re going to ignore the betrayals of our values. Far from it.

  37. Hillary Clinton thinks that there is a Vast Right-Wing Conspiracy.
    I think that there is a Vast Left-Wing Conspiracy.
    You think that there are no vast left-wing or right-wing conspiracies.

    We agree to disagree.

    So, yeah, Obama was friends with radicals.

    So the man who promised an administration that would be “open, transparent, and accountable” was less than honest (to put it nicely) when he was asked about Ayers.

    Obama was friends with a lot of people.

    Why has not a single person come forward to say that they were a classmate of Obama’s at Columbia?

    What you have repeatedly failed to show is that these friendships have actually influenced Obama’s policies in any way. Yes, yes, you think his platform is indistinguishable from that of the Communist Party. And every time you say that I ask, “then why isn’t he advocating Communism?” And you retreat and say that he can’t actually advocate it yet, but he’s leading us down the road towards it.

    I’m not retreating at all. The actions of Barack Hussein Obama over his first 80 days are self-evident. A rose by any other name is still a rose. An Islamic, Communist agenda by any other name(s) is still an Islamic, Communist agenda.

    what tax system do you think is most fair, and why?

    This one. Because it is fair and is what’s best for our country. Fair to everyone who is in this country legally, and penalizes (rather than rewards) those who are in this country illegally. Best for our country because it will bring money back into this country that is currently overseas, and will do a heck of lot more to stimulate our economy than the Democrats’ Stimulus bill.

  38. Jonah says:

    We agree to disagree.

    Eh, fair enough. I’m more than a little tired of arguing this sort of point with you, and I’m OK letting it go. Because of the major intellectual flaws of this era, your biggest one is paranoia, and paranoia isn’t particularly dangerous. Sure, it can distract you from getting things done, and it can slow down society’s growth as a whole, but it’s a very temporary sort of flaw. Eventually those who exhibit it notice that their fears aren’t coming true. So, fine, I’ll agree to disagree.

    Why has not a single person come forward to say that they were a classmate of Obama’s at Columbia?

    Well, (1) that’s false, and (2) because, as the article says, many of those friends, as Muslims, were wary of stoking exactly the sort of accusations you’re spouting now. But, hey, there are some classmates, as well as your long-desired date for when Obama stopped using drugs.

    I’m not retreating at all. The actions of Barack Hussein Obama over his first 80 days are self-evident. A rose by any other name is still a rose. An Islamic, Communist agenda by any other name(s) is still an Islamic, Communist agenda.

    That’s some suspicious use of the phrase “self-evident”. Putting aside once again the bizarre notion that there is such a thing as an Islamic-Communist agenda (“the enemy of my enemy is my friend” is a slogan, not a rule), what actions are you talking about? It’s not at all obvious to me.

    This one.

    Huh. That’s a different answer than I expected you to give. I’ll have to look much more into it before I can continue this line of discussion.

    I can, off the cuff, give you a follow-up question anyway. Do you believe that the FairTax plan is regressive, flat, or progressive (there is some debate about this), and why is that option the most fair of the three?

  39. Frin says:

    Again with the Islamic Communist agenda Mr Pill! Show us some evidence that such a thing actually exists – because on the surface it looks like you are throwing all sorts of random mud in the hope that it sticks.

  40. Frin,

    In today’s news,

    “President Obama has committed a serious mistake by unilaterally increasing Cuban-American travel and remittance dollars for the Cuban dictatorship,” the two congressmen said in a joint statement.

    “Unilateral concessions to the dictatorship embolden it to further isolate, imprison and brutalize pro-democracy activists, to continue to dictate which Cubans and Cuban-Americans are able to enter the island, and this unilateral concession provides the dictatorship with critical financial support,” the two said in their statement.

    “President Obama, however, should not make any unilateral change in America’s policy toward Cuba. Instead, Congress should vigorously debate these and other ideas before any substantive policy changes are implemented,” Mack said.

  41. During the campaign, when Obama’s campaign claimed that McCain was running for “Bush’s third term”, I said that Obama was running for “Carter’s second term”.

    Now that Obama is in office, others see “The second coming of the Carter Administration“.

    And in case you don’t remember the first Carter Administration, it was marked by making America weak in the face of Communism and Islamic radicals.

  42. Jonah says:

    In today’s news….

    Right, because the best way to democratize communist nations is to completely isolate their people from the rest of the world. Let them use the internet, and soon enough communism will flourish! This is totally Obama’s plan.

    (Not really.)

  43. Frin says:

    Mr Pill,

    Where’s the reference to the Islamic part of your supposed vast Islamic Communsist conspiracy in your article about Cuba? I just checked that bastion of Islamic fundamentalism, the Organisation of the Islamic Conference, and Cuba isn’t a member!

    And your referenced policy against Cuba is the same policy that achieved such milestones as…… what?

  44. westexan says:

    The Japanese greeting and the bow is a sign of friendship and a courtesy enjoyed by all from the least to the greatest in Japanese society. It is not a sign of submission as is the case when bowing to the King.

    Muhammad may be the messenger the Islamics hear, but Christ Jesus is the Messenger the Christians hear.

    Acts 4:10-12 “Let it be known to you all, and to all the people of Israel, that by the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth, whom you crucified, whom God raised from the dead, By Him this man stands here before you whole. This is the stone which was rejected by you builders, which has become the chief cornerstone. Nor is there salvation in any other, for there is no other name under heaven given among men by which we must be saved.”

    John 6:44 “No one can come to Me unless the Father who sent Me draws him; and I will raise him up at the last day.”

    John 14:6 “Jesus said to him, I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me.”

    In short no Christian would ever think we can “get there” through Muhammad. No christian except Obama.

Leave a Reply

